The Path of



Courses, Events and Retreats


The Path of Transformation
Wednesday Nights (Ongoing)

Wednesday nights of self discovery, covering various topics of Buddhist Philosophy, Meditation and Understanding the Mind and Emotions in particular. A mixture of teachings, discussions and guided meditations. Open to all.

International Yoga Festival
February 2019, Fri 22nd to Sunday 24th

Come join us this year at the International Yoga Festival at Kawai Purapura. Venerable Gyalten Sengye (Zac) will be leading four classes on Mediation & Buddhist Tantra ( Deity Yoga). These workshops help to remove obstacles and to develop love, compassion and wisdom.

Voices Of Sacred Earth Festival
March 2019, Friday 11th to Sun 13th

The Sacred Earth Festival brings together wisdom culture, and from around the globe offering transformational experiences through teaching, healing, music and sharing. Venerable Sengye (Zac) will be leading two classes this year. Please click below to find out more.


Vajra NZ

Awakening Vajra NZ is part of a global network of Tibetan Buddhist Centers (of the Gelug Tradition), founded by Geshe Gyalten Kunga, and Venerable Gyalten Sengye (Zac Parish), to honor the legacy, and vision of His Eminence Choden Rinpoche. AV NZ runs courses, events and retreats that are open to all, that help to open our Hearts to Love,Compassion and Wisdom. The centers aim is to provide a safe and supportive environment where individuals of all ages and cultures can come together and feel part of one family.


Our Teachers

Venerable Gyalten Sengye (Zac) is the resident teacher at Awakening Vajra NZ. We are blessed to have Geshe Gyalten Kunga visit and teach on an annual basis. His Eminence Choden Rinpoche’s reincarnation has been recognised by His Holiness the Dalai Lama, and will hopefully soon visit New Zealand. Find out more about the legacy of our teachers, and the Legacy of Choden Rinpoche…


5 Branches
of Study

Awakening Vajra International is fulfilling the dreams of His Eminence Choden Rinpoche to teach and preserve the Five Branches of study from the Nalanda spiritual tradition of India. The traditional five branches of study include: Buddhist Philosophy and Meditation, Astrology and Feng Shui, Linguistics, Complimentary Healing (Yoga, Accupucture, Wellness), Art/Crafts and Sculpture.